So long snowboard season, it was a great ride

Never say never, but I’m finally calling it on my 2008-2009 snowboard season. I was hoping to get in a day in July, but it didn’t come together, and the ocean beckons me until August. So Sunday, June 28, 2009, will go down as day #32, my final run on the slopes until fall.

I’m fully surrendering to summer, with it’s warm backpacking, surfing, camping, river running, stargazing, berry picking, coyote chasing, cruiser riding, ice cream eating, mountain biking, thunderstorm watching, barefoot existence. My solace from the fact that summer saunters quickly away is that the sweet glistening snows of winter get closer with every sunset.

It was a damn fine season of shredding, with good friends, good trips and good snow. From opening day at Loveland Ski Resort, to an epic powder day for the opening of Blue Sky Basin at Vail, to roadtrips to Crested Butte and Wolf Creek, to my first full moon night ride down Loveland Pass, to “short” hikes in Keystone’s back bowls, to riding the snirty snow at Beaver Creek, to an untold number of powder turns and corduroy carves, to pond skimming at A-Basin, to my purchase of a splitboard for even more powder access, its been a sweet one. Oh, and I also started this little ol’ blog, which has been a blast.

I’ll leave you with a little video of my final outing, a solo day with a run down a couloir off the south side of Sawtooth Mountain in the Indian Peaks Wilderness, Colorado. See you next opening day.

Leave a Reply

